Did you know on March 11, 1935 the Navy cryptologic organization redesignated OP-20-G as Communications Security Group?Between 1924 and 1935, the Naval cryptology service developed operationally, culminating in the formation of the Communications Security Group (CSG), effective March 11, 1935. That date marks the first appearance of the word “Group” in the title of the Naval cryptology organization and is observed as the birth of the Naval Security Group.

Commander Naval Security Group (CNSG) is the forerunner of Fleet Cyber Command/ Commander Tenth (FCC/C10F)!

Command Time-line:

1922 – OP-20G was established until after WWII.

1924-1935- Naval cryptology service developed operational.

1935 – Naval Security Group established.

After 1945 – Naval Cryptologic organization renamed Communications supplementary Activities.

1948 – Communications Technician (CT) ratings established.

1949 – Armed Forces Security Agency (AFSA) was created.

1950 – Title “Naval Security Group” was adopted as the official name.

1952 – NSA was created from the AFSA.

1956 – Naval Security Group Headquarters Activity was established.

18 March 1960 – NCTC Corry Station established.

1961 – Redesignated the Naval Security Group Headquarters under the Director, Naval Security Group who assumed the title at the same time.

1 July, 1968 – NSG Command was established with flag officer.

26 Mar 1976  Communications Technician rating change to Cryptologic Technician rating.

1995 – Relocation of CNSG HQ from Naval Security Station, Nebraska Ave in Washington D.C. to Fort Meade, MD.

19 October, 1998 – CNSG disestablished.

2002 – Naval Network Warfare Command (NETWARCOM) established.

01 Oct 2003 – EW rating converted to CTT rating.

06 Feb 2004 – CTN – Networks rating established.

2005 – NSG aligned under NETWARCOM.  Mission fundamentally changed as Navy’s lead for Information Operation (IO), Networks and Space.

01 May 2005 – Cryptologic Officer Designators 1610, 1615, 164X AND 744X changed to Information Warfare Officer Designators.  1610 changed to 1810 (Information Warfare).

01 Mar 2006 – CTO converted to IT rating for E1-E5 and 01 Oct 2006 for E6 and above.

01 Oct 2007 – CTA converted to YN rating.

20 Apr 2010 – Cyber Warrant Officer Designator 743X established.

21 May, 2010 – United States Cyber Command was established.

29 January, 2010 – U.S. Fleet Cyber Command/U.S. Tenth Fleet was established.  Mission fundamentally changed to Signals Intelligence, Electronic Warfare, and Cyber Operations.

10 May 2016 – Designation of the Cryptologic Warfare Community by VADM Jan Tighe.  Officers with designators 181X, 681X, and 781X are redesignated to Cryptologic Warfare Officer.