Congratulations and very “Well Done” to CTT1(NAC/IDW/AW) Courtney P. Evers and CTT1(IDW/SG) Kevin A. Owens on their selection as Naval Information Forces (NAVIFOR) 2015 Sea and Shore Sailors of the Year!

CTT1 Evers currently serves at Navy Information Operations Detachment Kaneohe Bay, Hawaii and CTT1 Owens serves at ONI’s Farragut Technical Analysis Center.

Congratulations are also in order for all of the outstanding Sailors that competed this week.  You all represented your commands and communities with the utmost pride and professionalism.


IS1(IDW/EXW/SW/AW) Brett Garrett
AG1(IDW/EXW) Dan Hicks
IS1(IDW/EXW/AW) Aaron Morrison


IT1(IDW/SW/AW) Crystal Arline
AG1(IDW/SW/AW) Nadine McBee

The results were announced at a breakfast/ceremony this morning put on by the Navy League at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.  The announcement comes at the end of a full week of competition and events designed to honor the accomplishments of all of the Sailors that competed.

The Chief of Naval Operations established the Sailor of the Year program in 1972 to recognize outstanding Sailors of the Atlantic and Pacific Fleets.  The program was expanded in 1973 to include the outstanding Sailor from the Shore establishment.

The Sailor of the Year program sets a high goal for Sailors to achieve.  It brings recognition to those Sailors who selflessly give themselves to the Navy and their communities.  The very best Sailors are those with a well-rounded sense of purpose.

Dedicated professionals, they work to achieve a level of quality in their jobs they can be proud of.  Off duty, they contribute time and energy to make their communities better places to live and work.  Through their quality, dedication, and perseverance as Sailors in the world’s strongest Navy they demonstrate what it takes to be selected as Sailors of the Year.

The rewards are well-earned and include meritorious advancement to the next higher pay grade, one-week expense paid trip for winners and spouses to anywhere in the United States, a week of high-level recognition and social events in Washington D.C., and a Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal presented by the Chief of Naval Operations.

Congratulations again from all of us at Station HYPO!